Little Adventur(er)

When I often dream of my NEXT BIG ADVENTURE I think of some far off exotic locale with beautiful scenery and new challenges, be it physical or logistical.  It also includes making memories that will last a lifetime.  The company you keep on such adventures and the shared experiences is usually the best part of the adventure itself.  During the course of my long break from work over the holidays, I was able to have just that type of adventure…with my son.

Looking for something to do around the Twin Cities with not a lot of time on our hands and something easy we could do indoors, my wife and I took our son to Edinborough Park Playpark in Edina.  My father was in town for Christmas, so it was also nice to bring him out for this little excursion.  Edinborough is madcap mayhem for young kids.  There is a large room with a smooth floor that’s great for carts and tricycles, basketballs and hoop, and an inflatable bouncy room with a slide.

Bouncing Bonanza
Bouncing Bonanza

This is a fun place to let kids go wild and run around, but the real adventure is in the next room where the 37ft. high “Adventure Peak” awaits.  With tons of nooks and crannies and a lot of different types of slides, this is a dream for kids who are adventurous.  My son is only 2.5 years old, so it provided the perfect amount of adventure to discover unexplored rooms and little nooks, courage to try new slides that were fast, long, and curvy, and curiosity about what was around the next corner.  He particularly liked the helicopter/ submarine.

Fin's Adventure Peak
Fin’s Adventure Peak

If you have a young one at home that needs to get out and have a little adventure, this is a close and cheap ($6 for kids, adults free) option during the winter months where getting outside with a toddler is a little more challenging.  Not every adventure has to involve the summit of a far-off distant peak or bombing an new mountain bike trail. Some of the best adventures are the smallest ones, spent with the smallest people.

 

"Let me tell you about my boat."
“Let me tell you about my boat.”
Leave a Reply

